Indonesia Government Prioritizes Ten Locations Nationwide For Tourism Development

The Indonesian government focuses on developing 10 of 222 tourism locations that are considered national tourism development zones to boost the number of foreign tourists to 20 millions per year in 2019.
Coordinating Maritime Affairs Minister Rizal Ramli on Monday, after a meeting for tourism infrastructure development coordination in Jakarta, said the ten locations will be turned into priority areas as they have the largest potential to boost the number of tourists. “We decided to focus on 10 locations to boost the number of tourists,” he said.
The 10 locations are Lake Toba (North Sumatera), The 1,000 Islands area (Jakarta), Bromo Mountain (East Java), Labuan Bajo (East Nusa Tenggara), Mandalika (West Nusa Tenggara), Morotai (Maluku), Yogyakarta, Wakatobi (Southeast Sulawesi), Belitung (Bangka Belitung) and Tanjung Laesung (Banten).
In order to develop those locations, the Minister highlighted the necessity to see both the Ministry of Transportation and the Ministry of Public Works and Public Housing to assign a budget for the development of infrastructure.
Rizal Ramli added that the meeting agreed on a budget draft for the ten tourism locations. Public Works and Public Housing Minister Basuki Hadimuljono will provide a budget for building roads and providing drinking water. Meanwhile, Tourism Minister Arief Yahya indicated meanwhile that the ten identified tourism localtions are in accordance with development priority scale from the Transportation Ministry and the Public Works and Public Housing Ministry. “We will develop all tourist locations, but we still have to make priorities in terms of time. This year is on the first named ten locations. Then we look next year at a second batch of ten locations and so on each new year,” he said.
(Source: ANTARA)