Australian Citizens Are Finally Exempted of Visa Requirements to Indonesia!

Indonesia has waived visa requirements for nationals from an additional 79 countries, expanding the list to 169 visa free nations as it continues its efforts to boost foreign visitor numbers.

President Joko Widodo on March 2 signed a decree, granting visa-free entry to tourists who wish to travel in the country for 30 days, said a statement published on the Cabinet Secretary website on Friday.

“The presidential decree comes into effect once it is ratified,” the statement said, noting that the Legal and Human Rights Ministry authorized it on March 10.

According to the statement, Australia is now included in the list of countries after the country was mooted three times last year but later the reciprocal issues were dropped over. Australia is one of Indonesia’s largest source market sending each year with close to 900,000 citizens visiting the country in 2015. Australia however requires foreigners a visa to enter into the country.

Throughout last year, the Indonesian government expanded the list to 90 from 15 visa-free countries.

The government has set a target of attracting 20 million foreign tourists annually by 2020 in an effort to boost growth in Southeast Asia’s most populated country and largest economy. Last year alone, between 9.8 and 10.3 million foreign tourists visited Indonesia, depending of which statistics are taken into consideration.

(Source: PNA/Xinhua)