Singapore Tourism Awards 2016 Honour the Singapore National Gallery

29 individuals and organisations were recognised on October 5 at the Singapore Tourism Awards 2016 for their exceptional achievements in delivering experience and enterprise excellence, and contributing to Singapore’s tourism industry. STB Chief Executive Mr Lionel Yeo said, “This year, we have repositioned our Awards to recognise the many different elements that need to come together for Singapore to remain competitive and compelling as a top destination. While Singapore Tourism Awards will continue to raise the bar in tourism experience creation, we also aim to inspire the tourism industry in pursuing enterprise excellence, which is key to achieving quality tourism growth in the long run. I am pleased that all our finalists are exemplary of what we are striving for with the Awards.”

Five recipients for Top Awards and Special Recognition

This year’s Breakthrough Contribution to Tourism award under Top Awards went to National Gallery Singapore for its role in helping to cement Singapore’s position as one of Asia’s leading art hubs, adding to the vibrancy of Singapore’s tourism landscape and increasing awareness of Singapore as a must-visit destination. The museum won also the best attraction experience award, beating Marina Bay Sands’ ArtScience Museum, Gardens by the Bay and Resorts World Sentosa’s Universal Studios Singapore.

Four exceptional individuals were accorded the Special Recognition award for their respective contributions towards the tourism industry. They are as follows:

  • Mr Rajakumar Chandra, Chairman of Little India Shopkeepers & Heritage Association (LISHA), for his outstanding contribution in growing the Little India precinct and preserving its culture and heritage. 
  • Ms Carolyn Kan, Founder & Designer of Carrie K Jewellery, and Ms Lynette Lee, Chief Executive Officer of Textile & Fashion Federation, for establishing KEEPERS: Singapore Designers Collective, the largest pop-up showcase of Singaporean designers’ offerings to date. 
  • Mr Arthur Kiong, Chief Executive Officer, Far East Hospitality, for sharing his deep and broad experience and contributing to the betterment of the hospitality industry through various roles such as Honorary Secretary of the Singapore Hotel Association and Co-Chair of the Hotel Industry Panel.

Twenty-five recognised as the best in the tourism sector

Besides the Top Awards and Special Recognition recipients, 25 other individuals and organisations were also honoured for their exemplary delivery of experience and enterprise excellence across the three award categories of Customer Service, Experience Excellence and Enterprise Excellence.

In particular, Mr Charlie Chan, Lions Club International Director (2014-2016), and Mr Henre Tan, past Lions Clubs International District Governor (2007 – 2008), were both recognised as Best Business Event Champion under the Experience Excellence (MICE) award category. They played principal roles in securing hosting rights for the 103rd Lions Clubs International Convention in 2020, the largest association convention to be held in Singapore for the first time.

The first Best Business Innovation award was conferred on BeMyGuest Pte Ltd for enabling travel operators to connect to international and new distribution channels through a free online platform, thus digitising the distribution of their travel products.

Among the awarded companies, Best Dining Experience award went to ‘Odette, The Lo & Behold Group’, Best Hotel Experience to The St. Regis Singapore, Best Nightspot Experience to CÉ LA VI Club, Best Shopping Experience
to DFS Wine & Spirits Duplex and the Best Tour Experience to The Intan Signature Tea Experience, The Intan.