Singapore and Thailand Impose New Fees to Trans-Border Vehicles

Sadao border between Malaysia and Thailand

After tolls and charges being implemented between Malaysia and Singapore, Malaysia and Thailand are looking at similar charges for vehicles… Which country will be next within ASEAN?

Malaysia decided to introduce last year a new RM20 (S$6.40 or US$5.00) fee for any vehicle crossing the border into Johor Bahru from Singapore. The new fee was introduced last November (See actually matching a previous fee introduced by Singapore.

Back to 1973, Singapore introduced the “Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP)”, collecting a fee of SGD20.00 per foreign-registered car coming in from Malaysia in addition to the existing tolls in existence at that time. In 2014, following an increase in toll by Malaysia, Singapore increased its own VEP by 75% to S$35…

It took then 43 years for Malaysia to follow Singapore and implement its own Road Charge of RM20. Singapore decided then to match Malaysia’s charge by officially unveiling its new fee for any foreign-registered vehicles entering into the Island State. The new charge will be implemented officially from February 15, as “Singapore’s toll and charges are pegged to those set by Malaysia for the use of the Causeway and Second Link”, according to press releases from Singapore Land Transport Authority.

From 15 February 2017, all foreign-registered cars will then have to pay a Reciprocal Road Charge (RRC) of S$6.40 per-entry when they enter Singapore via the Tuas or Woodlands Checkpoint. The RRC will be collected together with the VEP fee, toll charges and fixed Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) fees upon departure at the Tuas or Woodlands Checkpoint.

Meanwhile, the new reciprocal charges give ideas for other borders checkpoints. Malaysia announced that it will start collecting a fee of about RM20 for all vehicles entering the country from Thailand from the middle of this year. Thailand decided to reciprocate and announced to set a similar fee of THB200 for any foreign vehicle entering into the Kingdom. The decision was announced by Thailand transport deputy permanent secretary Somsak Hommuang. The new fee is due to be collected from early 2018.

They are nine official checkpoints on the Thai-Malaysian border, the largest checkpoints being Sadao/Padang Besar, Sungei Kolok, Betong and Satun.