E-Visa Officially Kicks off in Vietnam

E-visa has been the talk of Vietnamese authorities for the last two years. After a few delays due to the approval process of various administrations within the government, e-visa have been officially introduced on February 1, 2017.

Commenting on the new facility for travellers, Director General of the Viet Nam National Administration of Tourism Nguyen Van Tuan said the policy will make it easier for overseas visitors to enter Vietnam.

To apply for e-visas, foreign citizens must complete a form which is available on two separate websites (one in Vietnamese at http://www.xuatnhapcanh.gov.vn and the other in English at http://www.immigration.gov.vn) administered by the Ministry of Public Security. After which applicants will receive an application code and be prompted to pay a non-refundable fee online. It normally takes three working days for tourists to be informed if their applications have been approved or not. Citizens of 40 countries are for the time being eligible for the e-visa procedure.

For the time being, e-visa is only valid for a 30-day single-entry tourist visa. Countries which can get a free visa on arrivals (such as half a dozen European countries for a validity of 15 days) still benefit from that facility.

Providing e-visas is a step in the right direction, but ultimately, not enough to help Vietnam’s tourism compete with other countries in the region, said Vice President of the Vietnam Tourism Association Vu The Binh. He suggested more policies such as visa exemptions, tourism promotion, and human resources development to attract more international tourists.

List of the 40 countries eligible for e-visa:

1. Argentina                            11. Czech Republic                  21. Kazakhstan                      31. Romania
2. Armenia                              12. Germany                           22. Korea (South)                  32. Russia
3. Azerbaijan                           13. Denmark                           23. Luxembourg                    33. Slovakia
4. Bulgaria                               14. Finland                               24. Myanmar                         34. Spain
5. Belarus                                15. France                                25. Mongolia                           35. Sweden
6. Brunei                                  16. Greece                               26. Norway                             36. Timor Leste
7. Chile                                     17. Hungary                             27. Panama                             37. Uruguay
8. China                                    18. Ireland                               28. Peru                                  38. United Kingdom
9. Colombia                              19. Italy                                   29. Philippines                        39. United States of America
10. Cuba                                   20. Japan                                 30. Poland                               40. Venezuela

Airports serving as an entry point for travellers with an e-visa:

1. Hanoi-Noi Bai international airport
2. Ho Chi Minh City- Tan Son Nhat international airport
3. Cam Ranh/Nha Trang International airport in Nha Trang city
4. Danang international Airport
5. Haiphong- Cat Bi international airport
6. Can Tho International Airport
7. Phu Quoc International airport
8. Hue-Phu Bai Airport